Engineering faculty are among the 87 new Fellows of The Royal Society of Canada, elected by their peers to the incoming class of The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists for 2020.

Engineering schools represented include McGill University, University of Calgary, University of Ottawa, University of Western Ontario and the University of Guelph.

AMABILI, Marco – Department of Mechanical Engineering, McGill University
Marco Amabili has made exceptional contributions to research in mechanical vibrations and nonlinear mechanics through his highly-cited books and journal publications. His specialties are nonlinear vibrations, shell structures and vascular biomechanics. He holds editorial positions in scholarly journals with long history, is fellow of all the three pan-European Academies and of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, and was recognized by prestigious awards internationally and at his home institution.

CHEN, Zhangxing – Schulich School of Engineering, University of Calgary
Internationally renowned in chemical and petroleum engineering research, Zhangxing Chen holds the NSERC/Alberta Innovates/Energi Simulation Senior Industrial Research Chair. His exceptional work has led to the establishment of the most prominent collaborative consortium and a spin-off company. Among his numerous accolades, he is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering and the Engineering Institute of Canada and has received NSERC’s Synergy Award for Innovation and the Fields-CAIMS Prize.

EL SADDIK, Abdulmotaleb – School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Ottawa
Abdulmotaleb El Saddik (Fellow IEEE, EIC & CAE), University Research Chair and Distinguished University Professor, is an award-winning internationally recognized leader in computer science and engineering research, having made seminal contributions to the field of multimedia computing and communications. His research in hapticaudio-visual environments, together with his pioneering work in digital twins and haptics biometrics, have reinvigorated multimedia research worldwide and significantly impacted the way human-machine interactions are performed.

JIANG, Jing (Jin) – Departement of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Western University
Jing Jiang, a Distinguished University Professor and NSERC Senior Industrial Research Chair, is an internationally renowned Canadian expert in fault-tolerant control, instrumentation/control systems for nuclear power plants, and renewable energy microgrids. His pioneering works have fundamentally revolutionized approaches to achieving high reliability in safety-critical systems, safer nuclear power plants, and more effective utilization of renewable energy. His seminal contributions have made impacts in both academic communities and industries worldwide.

MOHANTY, Amar – Department of Plant Agriculture and School of Engineering, University of Guelph
Amar Mohanty is a pioneer in advanced biomaterial science and engineering. His lifelong dedication to developing biobased materials that reduce the environmental impacts of plastics has catalyzed changes across major industries. His award-winning compostable packaging and ‘green’ automotive parts are commercially adopted in global markets. They have lower greenhouse gas emissions, reduce waste and represent a model for realizing the Circular Economy concept for the next generation of materials.

SIMONOVIC, Slobodan P. – Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Western University
Slobodan P. Simonovic has made seminal contributions to the development of systems engineering approaches to the planning, designing and managing of complex water resources systems in the search for sustainable and robust physical and societal solutions, based on stakeholders’ value systems and ethical principles. He has utilized multiple approaches for addressing subjective and objective uncertainties in managing water resources systems.


Recognition by The Royal Society of Canada is the highest honour an individual can achieve in the Arts, Social Sciences and Sciences. Congratulations to all the remarkable individuals!